How secure is SecureKeep?
When you sign up, you create an account with your own password. This password
is used to encrypt all your data using RC4, 128-bit or 256-bit AES (Advanced Encryption Standard).
RC4 is the most widely used software stream cipher and is used in popular protocols such as Secure Socket Layer.
AES is the de facto encryption standard for commercial transactions.
It would take millions of years to decrypt AES encrypted data
using a brute force attack. All communications between iPhone and our servers are over SSL (Secure Socket Layer).
When you share data with your friend in SecureKeep, the data is sent securely through our servers. However, our
servers do not have key to decrypt the data so nobody but you and your friend can read the data.
Your password is only stored in your iPhone and never sent to
our servers. We do not know your password and cannot read your data. So
if you forget your password, we cannot recover it for you.
It is important for you to choose (and remember) a strong password.
Short and simple passwords are relatively easy for attackers to determine.
App crashed after upgrade, how to solve this problem?
In this case, delete the app and reinstall it from the appstore.
Why it's important to use a valid email address for registration?
When you register an account, it is important to choose a valid and secure email address as login name.
In case you forget your password, we only can send email to your registration email to help
you recover your password.
In addition to password recovery, your email address is only available to our customer service for
personal interaction with you and to inform you about important system changes.
Your personal information including email address will never be shared with any 3rd parties.
What if I forgot my password?
Your password is stored in your iPhone and never sent to our servers, and there is no
"back door" for anyone but you to read it. You can generate password recovery code and
write it down on paper, or save it to your photo album. Once you forget your password,
you can send us a request, and we will email a matching code to your registration email
account. You then can use your saved password recovery code and the matching code
to recover your password.
Technically, is it really no way for others to read my data?
Only people who know your password can read your data.
- When you sign up, you pick a password, which is encrypted and stored in
your phone's keychain and it is never sent to our servers.
A one-way salted hash of (email + password) is sent over to
our servers for account verification purpose. A unique server-side key is
also generated for you for encryption purpose.
- Each record you created is encrypted using a different key. The
available encryption algorithms include RC4, 128-bit and 256-bit AES.
The encryption key is based on the combination of user's password,
server-side key, user ID and a unique initialization vector.
- SSL encryption is always used for transferring data between your
phone and our servers.
What if I lost my phone?
If your data is synced frequently with our servers, then your data is safe. You can
log in to your account on another phone using the same user name and password, your data
will be synced on your new phone.
If somebody steals your phone, s/he cannot access your data without knowing your password.
All data is encrypted on the phone and it is impossible to read the data in it.
To be safe, do not set auto-logout to "Never" so others will need to enter password to
get into your account.
How can I close my account?
Please use the "Contact Us" button on the left side menu to send us a request. We will
close the account for you and all the data will be removed.
How to send a message to my friend?
If your friend is already in your SecureKeep's friend list, you can tap the
"share" button and select your friend. The message will be sent to your
friend securely and nobody else can read it.
If your friend has not joined SecureKeep, you can invite her/him to join. Then
you can send messages securely to each other.
Why there's no location info for records shared by friends?
Every record you saved has GPS location info embedded in it. So you can search your
own data by location. For privacy concerns, the location info is removed when
your friend receives your records.